Citation Adjustment for New Mexico OSHA
Senate Bill 229 (“SB 229”), signed into law on April 6, 2017, amended the Occupational Health and Safety Act, 50-9 NMSA 1978, to adjust maximum and minimum penalties in conformance with Federal law. The legislation conforms to the requirements of the Federal Occupational Safety and Health Act, the FCPAA, and Federal OSHA rules for approval of State occupational health and safety plans.
The penalty levels contained in the New Mexico OHSB
April 2, 2018
Maximum Civil Penalties
|Type of Violation||Old Penalty Levels
|New Penalty Levels
|Willful or Repeat||$126,749||$129,412|
|Other than Serious||$12,675||$12,941|
|Failure to Abate||$12,675||$12,941|
Employers must post injury and illness summaries now through April
OSHA’s Form 300A
OSHA reminds employers of their obligation to post a copy of OSHA’s Form 300A, which summarizes job-related injuries and illnesses logged during 2015. The summary must be displayed in a common area where notices to employees are usually posted each year between Feb. 1 and April 30.
Businesses with 10 or fewer employees and those in certain low-hazard industries are exempt from OSHA recordkeeping and posting requirements. As of Jan. 1, 2015, certain previously exempt industries are now covered. Lists of both exempt and newly covered industries are available on OSHA’s website. Visit OSHA’s Recordkeeping Rule webpage for more information on recordkeeping requirements.